This is the "Publisher Database Links" page of the "Creating Persistent links to E-Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Creating Persistent links to E-Resources   Tags: creating links, ebooks, help, persistent links, stable links  

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.athabascau.ca/persistentlinks Print Guide RSS Updates

Publisher Database Links Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Links in Publisher Databases

The journal databases Sage Journals Online, Wiley Online Library, Springerlink and Taylor & Francis Online only contain content from these individual publishers, and are sometimes referred to as "publisher databases". As such, these databases are considered more stable from a longevity perspective, in that the content in these databases is less likely to be removed.

While it is possible to find persistent links in various places in these databases, it is safest to use the link found in the adress bar for all of them. Make sure that the link you are using contains the following text somewhere in the link:

 0-  and aupac.lib.athabascau.ca

For example:

http://0-mmd.sagepub.com.aupac.lib.athabascau.ca/content/1/2/117.full.pdf+html (from Sage Journals Online).

 

Characteristics of Stable Links

In general, all persistent or stable links from AU will include the following text which identifies AU Library's proxy server:

0- and aupac.lib.athabascau.ca

Persistent links at other institutions will look very different, due to differences in proxy servers and authentication processes, so make sure to use databases in AU Library's collection when searching for persistent links.

Athabasca University Library
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm (MT)
Phone: (800) 788-9041, ext. 6254
email: library@athabascau.ca

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip