A collaborative project between The Centre for Integrated Studies and AU Library
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014
Below is a list of databases that provide full text articles and that may be of use to students in the MA-IS program. It is not meant to be a comprehensive list, but instead provide an indication of the types of content that can be found in journal databases subscribed to by the Library. For a full listing of the databases provided through AU Library, follow this link. You can either list the databases by Subject or by Title.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database that contains full text for a wide range of subject areas, including Sociology, Psychology, Education, Computer Sciences, Engineering, Language and Linguistics, Medical Sciences, Arts and Literature and Ethnic Studies, to name a few. It is possible to search multiple databases on this platform.
- Emerald Full Text
Emerald Full Text is a powerful business research tool that allows access to both full text and abstracts of articles from international publications in several management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resources management. This database will be particularly useful for those in organizational, leadership and management streams, as well as those interested in adult or workplace education.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
This multidisciplinary database is useful for research in such areas as Religion, Law, History, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology and Communications. It provides full text access to both scholarly and popular magazines. AU Library subscribes to several databases on the same platform as EA, including Business Index, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and CPI-Q. Use these instructions to learn how to search these other databases.
JSTOR provides full text access to the complete runs, (from volume 1, issue 1) of every journal it indexes. Recent issues (published in the last 2-5 years) are not included in the database but may be available through other AU Library licensed databases and accessible through links provided in JSTOR. Disciplines included are Latin American Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Education, History, Ecology, Language & Literature, Political Science and Sociology, among others.
- Project Muse
Project Muse is a full text database that indexes over 100 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences and is particularly strong in literature. It allows you to either search the entire database or browse individual publications.
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Full Text provides full text access to dissertations and master's theses from over 1000 North American and European universities.
- Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source
This database is primarily health sciences/nursing in focus, but has strong coverage in the areas of gerontology, psychology and other related disciplines. It provides full text access to the majority of the journals it indexes. AU Library subscribes to several databases on the same platform as Proquest Nursing, and it is possible to search all of these at once.
- Science Direct
Science Direct is a full text database that will be particularly useful to those interested in ecology or environmental studies. It is one of the world's largest providers of scientific, technological and medical literature and provides access to over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science. This database also contains a significant amount of journals in the social sciences. It is possible to limit your search to only journals that AU Library subscribes to.
When searching journal databases, remember to check out the subject headings assigned to relevant articles. This can provide you with alternative terms that can be used to describe your topic.