This is the "Citation/Abstract Databases" page of the "MA - IS Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A collaborative project between The Centre for Integrated Studies and AU Library
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.athabascau.ca/maisguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Citation/Abstract Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citation/Abstract Databases

As a graduate student you may find that the full text databases do not provide enough material for your topic. In this case, you may find it necessary to use a citation/abstract database to locate references. Sometimes articles indexed in these databases are available full text in our print or electronic collection, and sometimes it will be necessary to request them through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Please be aware that most items ordered through ILL are received at AU Library within 7-10 business days, but more difficult to locate items can take several weeks. To find out more about the Interlibrary Loans process, including what can be ordered, click here.

  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    This database provides a range of materials, including books, essays, journal articles, and government documents pertaining to the culture, history, and life of North America's indigenous peoples.
  • ERIC
    ERIC stands for the Educational Resources Information Center. This index of education documents and journal articles began as a print periodical index and has made the transition to the online format. While this database generally only provides citations/abstracts for articles, links to the full text of ERIC documents published after 1996 are provided, and a link to full text from another database may be provided.
  • Left Index
    The Left Index provides access to the literature published by the political left, and focuses on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO in its original form was a print periodical index. This online version of the citation/abstract index provides references for articles from 1887 to the present. For this reason it can provide an historical perspective on a topic. The database includes the professional and academic literature in Psychology and related disciplines including Health Sciences, Sociology, Education and Linguistics. Coverage is worldwide, and includes a range of formats.
 

Research Tip

To find out if a journal article is available in our print or electronic collection, use the AU Journal Title List. Remember to type the name of the journal in the search box, not the name of the article.

Athabasca University Library
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm (MT)
Phone: (800) 788-9041, ext. 6254
email: library@athabascau.ca

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip