This is the "Journal Databases" page of the "MA - IS Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A collaborative project between The Centre for Integrated Studies and AU Library
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.athabascau.ca/maisguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Journal Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Tip

Once you have conducted a search in most journal databases, you can simply click on the Subject Heading assigned to the article. It will take you to a list of all the other articles in the database with that subject heading.

 

Journal Databases

AU Library subscribes to more than 200 journal databases in areas of the AU curriculum. Many of these databases provide direct access to full text journals. Through our online databases students have access to more than 60,000 unique journal titles.

AU Library has listed its databases by subject and by title. If you are not sure where to start searching try using the subject list. The Interdisciplinary Studies category includes databases which cover a lot of different subject areas, such as Academic OneFile and Academic Search Complete, but it is not the only subject category that may be useful to you, so be prepared to explore the various subject categories and databases. If you have questions about choosing an appropriate database, please contact AU Library and someone will be happy to provide a suggestion based on the topic you are researching.

Remember that it is important to look at various forms of media when researching topics. It is important to examine scholarly resources, but it can be as important to look at popular media sources as well, including newspapers, popular magazines, online video archives, blogs, wikis and other sources. These sources can not only provide you with a snapshot of popular opinion, but can also serve as a way to find out who the main players in a given area are.

For information on how to search for articles, view the Searching For Journal Articles tab of this guide.

 

What is a citation?

A citation provides the information you need to locate an item, whether it is a book, journal article or other publication. Here are some tips to help you determine the difference between a book citation and a journal article citation:

Book citations typically include the author's name, name of the book, place of publication, publisher's name and date. For example:

Freire, Paulo. Pedagogy of the Oppressed. New York: Continuum, 1993.


Journal article citations
are comprised of the author's name, title of the journal article, name of the journal the article was published in, volume, issue, publication date, and page numbers. For example:

Tester, Frank James. Can the Sled Dog Sleep? Postcolonialism, Cultural Transformation and the Consumption of Inuit Culture. New Proposals: Journal of Marxism and Interdisciplinary Inquiry, 2010, 3(3), 7-19.

Please note:

The way that citations are presented in a bibliography will vary depending on the citation style that is being used. For more information on citation styles, please view the Citing & Referencing page on the Library's Website or talk with your course professor about the style you should use.

 

What is an abstract?

An abstract  is a brief description, usually several sentences long, of what the article is about. It can help you decide whether the article is useful for your topic or not.

 

Types of Databases

There are two strategies to researching a topic in a journal database:

  • Searching Full Text databases
  • Searching Citation/Abstract databases

Why search a Full Text database?

  • Can provide quick access to articles
  • Many include both scholarly and non-scholarly sources

Why search a Citation/Abstract database?

  • Can be useful to flesh out alternate sources on a topic that are either not available in full text through AU, or are not available online.

Athabasca University Library
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm (MT)
Phone: (800) 788-9041, ext. 6254
email: library@athabascau.ca

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip