The Digital Reference Centre (DRC) is a collection of librarian evaluated web resources designed to support the distance learner by replcaing the traditional reference collection in a library. Resources included are dictionaries and encyclopedias, atlases and maps, almanacs and directories, and statistical sources.
Below is a list of resources found in the DRC that may be helpful to you. For a complete look at the resources listed in the DRC, click here.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The OED traces the history of the English language, showing not only the current meaning of words, but also their origins and development through time (etymology). Entries are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world.
- Oxford Reference Online
Access a cross-searchable web database that brings together dictionaries of quotations, language dictionaries and thesauri, and dictionaries for science and medicine, humanities and social science, and business and law, as well as the World Encyclopedia.
- Credo Reference
Access a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, as well as subject-specific online reference books for business, science, law, history and other disciplines.
- Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Search an electronic version of this dictionary, which is a product of Athabasca University and the International Consortium for the Advancement of Academic Publication (ICAAP). It consists of approx. 1000 entries covering the disciplines of sociology, criminology, political science and women's studies with a commitment to Canadian examples, events and names.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica, first published in 1768, is considered to be the most comprehensive general encyclopedia. The online version includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. There are over 14,000 illustrations. There is also an Internet directory consisting of over 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
- An Atlas of Cyberspaces
For a cyber-geography perspective explore maps and graphical representations of the "digital landscapes" of the Internet, Web and other cyberspaces.