A collaborative project between The Centre for Integrated Studies and AU Library
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014
Libraries and Archives
Most libraries and archives have online catalogues that are freely accessible to everyone. AU Library has a selected list of library catalogues from Canadian libraries on our website under Use Other Libraries. We also subscribe to a database called WorldCat that provides access to over 40 million catalogue records from libraries in Canada, the US and selected international countries.
Increasingly, libraries, archives and museums are digitizing parts of their collections and making them accessible on the Internet. Below is a selected list of resources that may be helpful to you as you pursue your studies.
- Library and Archives Canada
Library and Archives Canada (LAC) provides a range of services to the public, government, archives, libraries & publishers. They also make a wide range of resources available on the web, including virtual exhibitions.
- Canadian Poetry Archive
This archive, created by Library and Archives Canada, includes poems and biographical sketches of English and French Canadian poets. The site has now been archived by LAC, and is no longer being updated.
- Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN)
This site is an extraordinary collection of information and images about Canadian Heritage. The Virtual Museum of Canada is part of this site, showcasing Canadian museum collections. The site also includes Professional Exchange, a resource for those interested in museums.
- The Digital Library of Canada Literature Collection
This site provides access to Canadian literature collections available on the web. It also includes selected research tools for collections found at LAC.
- Canadian Archival Resources on the Internet
This site is a directory to Canadian Archival collections, hosted by the Canadian Archival Information Network.
- The Library of Congress Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
This site provides access to a range of digital materials related to world cultures, and includes lists of collaborative digital libraries and individual collections.
- The British Columbia History Internet/Web Site
With a focus primarily on BC history, this site is a comprehensive directory of Canadian information on the web.
- Voice of the Shuttle
This site is a database of websites relating to a range of topics, including anthropology, art history, cultural studies, cyberculture, music, literary theory, literature, media studies and politics & government.
- Our Future, Our Past - Alberta Heritage Digitization Project
This site provides free, online access to Alberta cultural and heritage materials.
- American Memory
The Library of Congress' American Memory website provides access to many digitized historical collections including literature, music, business and economics, performing arts and the social sciences.