This is the "Requesting Material" page of the "AU Library's Guide to the Research Process" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide will help you learn about the research process.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2015 URL: http://libguides.athabascau.ca/researchprocess Print Guide RSS Updates

Requesting Material Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Requesting Material

Now that you have searched for materials, you may need to request items from the Library. If you have located a physical item, such as a print book or video, in the AU Library catalogue, you can request the item automatically. Simply click on the "request" button and fill in the fields. If the item is out to another borrower, you will have to wait until the item is returned before you can borrow it. You can also contact the Library via phone, fax, or e-mail to request items found in the AU Library collection.

If you have located an item in another library's catalogue, then you will have to determine if you have borrowing privileges at that library (see the Choosing Your Research Tools tab). If you do not, you should inquire at the library about the possibility of using the item in the library without checking it out. The Interlibrary Loan office in the AU Library can get you photocopies of journal articles and chapters from books not found in the AU Library collection; however, they cannot acquire books for you through interlibrary loan.

If you have located a journal article in a journal database that is of interest to you, and the full text is not available in the database you are searching, you have a few options. Sometimes a particular journal is found in multiple databases, and some journal databases allow you to for full text in other databases. Look for phrases like "Look for the Full Article" or "WebBridge". Clicking on these links will allow you to find out if full text is available in another database.

If you are unable to find the article in fulltext, you can search the AU Library Journal Title List for the title of the journal that the article can be found in. The Journal Title List provides a listing of all the full text journals held in either our print or electronic collection. Before you search the journal title list, make a note of the name of the journal, year of publication, and volume and issue information. You will need this when you search the journal title list. For tips on using this tool, have a look at the tutorial.

If the journal is available in the printed AU Library collection, then the article can generally be copied and mailed out to you within a few days. If the journal is not in the collection, then you have 2 options: try and locate the article in a library in your local area OR contact the Interlibrary Loan office to see if they can get a copy of the article for you from another library. Please note that the ILL process can take anywhere from 1 - 6 weeks for you to get an article. For more information on the ILL process, please see the ILL page.

 

Research Tip

If you need to find an item for which you do not have a complete citation, try searching Google by putting the title of the item in quotation marks. Often there are references to published items on the Internet, and this can help you find the complete citation.

If you do not know the entire title, try searching instead using some of the information you do have, such as the author's name, words from the title or journal name.

Athabasca University Library
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm (MT)
Phone: (800) 788-9041, ext. 6254
email: library@athabascau.ca

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip