This is the "Persistent Links in EBSCO, GALE and ProQuest Databases" page of the "Creating Persistent links to E-Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Creating Persistent links to E-Resources   Tags: creating links, ebooks, help, persistent links, stable links  

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.athabascau.ca/persistentlinks Print Guide RSS Updates

Persistent Links in EBSCO, GALE and ProQuest Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Linking to Online Journal Articles

EBSCO, Gale and ProQuest Databases:

Databases provided by EBSCO, GALE and ProQuest contain content from multiple publishers and are made available through licensing agreements that they sign with the specific publishers. The persistent links in these databases can be found under different labels.

1) EBSCO Databases: AU Library subscribes to a number of EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Complete, ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials, Business Source Complete, Canadian Literary Centre, Canadian Reference Centre, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Education Research Complete, Environment Complete, ERIC, OmniFile Full Text Mega, PsycARTICLES and SocINDEX with Full Text, among others. 

Persistent links in these databases can be found under the heading Permalink, which appears on the right side of the record for individual items.

Note: The link in the browser's address bar is not persistent, and will not work beyond the current search session.

2) Gale Databases: A number of Gale databases are available through AU Library, including Academic OneFile and The Times Digital Archive. A complete list of Gale Databases can be found here.

Persistent links in Gale databases appear in different locations, depending on the databases. In databases like Academic OneFile (and any others using this platform), and Literature Resource Center, the persistent link can be found by clicking on Bookmark This.

For databases like Contemporary Literary Criticism and The Times Digital Archive, the persistent link is found in the browser's address bar.

3) Proquest Databases: A variety of Proquest databases are part of AU Library's collection. Some of the most common Proquest databases are ABI/Inform Complete, Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete and CBCA Complete. A full list of the Proquest databases available through the Library can be found here.

Persistent links in Proquest databases can be found at the bottom of the record for a specific item and is found under the heading "Document URL".

Note: The link in the browser's address bar is not persistent in Proquest databases, and will not work beyond the current search session.

 

Characteristics of Stable Links

In general, all persistent or stable links from AU will include the following text which identifies AU Library's proxy server:

0- and aupac.lib.athabascau.ca

Persistent links at other institutions will look very different, due to differences in proxy servers and authentication processes, so make sure to use databases in AU Library's collection when searching for persistent links.

Athabasca University Library
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm (MT)
Phone: (800) 788-9041, ext. 6254
email: library@athabascau.ca

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip